About Us

Established in 1996, NZ Landcare Trust is an independent charitable organisation. It is one of the only national, non-government organisations working with the land user community to encourage and support sustainable land and water management.

The Trust brings together and unifies diverse interest groups. Our Board comprises eight trustees organisations, including representatives from Federated Farmers of New Zealand; Federated Mountain Clubs; Federation of Māori Authorities; Fish and Game New Zealand; Ecologic Foundation, Rural Women New Zealand; Farm Forestry Association; and Forest and Bird.


George Matthews
(Board chair)
Federation of Maori Authorities

Guy Salmon
Ecologic Foundation

Gill Naylor
President, Rural Women New Zealand

Wayne Langford
National President, Federated Farmers of New Zealand

Richard Capie
Group Manager Conservation Advocacy, Forest and Bird

Corina Jordan
Chief Executive, Fish and Game New Zealand

Jan Finlayson
Past President, Federated Mountain Clubs

Egon Guttke
Executive Member, New Zealand Farm Forestry Association